RSS Feed

A Dream Come True

From the time that a child has proven his or her ability to speak coherently, he or she has probably heard the question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” In 2nd or 3rd grade, a teacher may turn the same question into a writing prompt for a homework assignment.

For many years, I thought the assignment was a little silly. How can any adult expect a 7- or 8-year-old to be able to assess his or her interests, skills, and talents; most of which remains undiscovered and undeveloped at that stage in life?

It is only now that I realize the purpose of the question was to encourage children to dream, to consider a bright future, to realize what they value most, to uncover the desire to help others, serve society, etc. and seek out the path to make their dreams come true while they have plenty of time.

A little boy may say he wants to be a policeman or a fireman because he wants to be a hero.

A little girl may say she wants to be a nurse or a doctor because she wants to care for the sick.

Another little boy may want to be a lawyer because his dad is a lawyer and he looks up to his dad.

Another girl may want to be an actress or a singer because she enjoys performing and she is good at it.

I don’t remember how I answered the question in my early childhood years and I’ll spare you the boring reasons of why I chose to be a pharmacist.

I’ll just talk about my dreams of being a published writer. The problem is that I don’t know what to write about.

Somebody once told me to write about what I know.

Another person suggested I write about pharmacy stuff. I refuse to write about pharmacy stuff because I believe what happens at work should stay at work.

  • Nobody’s paying me to write a professional blog.
  • I’m not going to dish out anything about my patients no matter how funny their antics may be, simply because it isn’t nice and I have a very broad definition of patient confidentiality.

I can’t write fiction. My imagination is severely impaired, therefore I can’t craft a story from scratch, create characters, write dialogue, or develop a plot. However, I do enjoy reading fiction and I marvel at the abilities of J.K. Rowling and Stephen King.

I can write essays. Blogs seem like miniature essays with hyperlinks and visuals. I thought I could manage that. So when I finally decided on a title and developed a general vision for this blog, I was very excited. Blogging is my dream come true.

Just by clicking “New Post”, typing something, and clicking “Publish”, Voila! I’m published. Meaning anyone in the world with an internet connection can chance upon this blog. If they can read English and they (you) care for what I have to say, they (you) might even stay and read some more as I ramble some more.

Now…if only I could go back in time and edit my 3rd grade homework assignment, I would write about how I want to be a blogger one day (if only blogs existed in the early 90s).

While I might not become a very famous blogger, I will certainly be a happy blogger.

Thanks for taking the time to read my very first blog post!

Leave a Reply

